Esther’s Apple-Flax Pie

Posted on September 5, 2007. Filed under: Recipes |

My Brother Jon was visiting our farm this past month.  As it was near his birthday, I asked him what kind of cake he would like for his Birthday Cake.  He informed me that he didn’t want a Birthday Cake…he wanted a Birthday Pie… Apple Pie!

Therefore, for the special occasion of my brother’s 65th Birthday, I altered a recipe found in The Amazing Flax Cookbook, by Jane Reinhardt-Martin.  The recipe in the book is entitled Harvest Pear Crisp, this is how I made it.

Esther’s Apple-Flax Pie

I used Pappy’s Pie Crust for the top and bottom piecrusts.

  • 6 cups sliced fresh Braeburn Apples, or your favorite apple
  • 1-Tablespoon lemon juice (I didn’t have this, and it turned out    fine…however I think that it is a good idea)
  • 2- Tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons white sugar.
  • 1-Tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 ½-teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3rd   cup ground flax seed
  • 1/4th cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/3rd cup quick cooking oats
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Roll out piecrust, put in bottom of pie pan.
  3. Peel and slice up apples, add lemon juice, put in pie pan.
  4. Combine remaining ingredients, place on top of apples.
  5. Cover with second piecrust.  Flute edges together, pierce top of crust with a fork.  I covered the edges with tin foil.
  6. Bake at 400 degrees around 50 minutes on lower rack of oven, until juice bubbles and crust is lightly golden brown.This turned out very well, my brother and family enjoyed the pie, which I served warm, with ice cream.  I hope that you enjoy it also!  Esther Hylden

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

